A Nice Drive (Oct. 21)

We left Belfast today after two and a half days of intense study of the conflict.  I am overloaded, I am exhausted, I am processing, and I am going to miss the coffee from the hotel.  15 other students from Dublin arrive and we all take the black cab tour together.  It’s weird.  The nine of us that have been here for a few days see some new murals on the tour, but we know all the information.  The tour guides are knocked of kilter because we don’t respond to their sensationalism like normal tourists would.  We end up at the Titanic shipyard, and a lot of people get their “I’m flying!” pictures, but because there are only three men, most of the girls would hold each other, then switch.

Finally we climb onto the bus that is going to drive us along the coast to Portrush, and everybody is either dozing off, or staring out the window as the scenery changes boldly green hills spotted with sheep to craggy shorelines with white-capped water separating us from Scotland.  It is nice to relax and sit still…I can’t wait for dinner.

Leave a comment

Filed under Northern Ireland

Leave a comment